CHICAGO, IL (NEWS CENTER) - McAuley Lions star guard Allie Clement takes home the USA TODAY High School Sports Gatorade Maine Girls High School Basketball Player of the Year for the second year in a row.

Clement was one of those special players in Maine right from her freshman year. The 5-foot-8 senior lead the Lions to a 21-1 record and their fourth straight MPA Class A state championship in the 2013 - 2014 season. Clement scored 17 points to go with five assists and three steals in the title-clinching, 67-41 win over Oxford Hills.

Clement also excelled in the classroom maintaining a 94.9 average. A member of the National Honor Society, she has volunteered locally on behalf of the Falmouth Food Pantry, as an elementary school library assistant and as a youth basketball coach.

"I really believe Allie Clement will go down as one of the top players Maine has ever seen," said Catherine McAuley High head coach Billy Goodman. "Her ability to play offense and defense at such a high level while under pressure is what really sets her apart. Mentally and physically, she is a special kid."

Clement has signed a National Letter of Intent to play basketball on scholarship at New York's Marist College this fall.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Clement as Maine's best high school girls basketball player. Clement joins fellow McAuley alum Ashley Cimino and Sarah Marshall as a multiple POTY winners. Other multiple winners include York's Nikki Taylor, who took home 2 straight awards and Lawrence's Cindy Blodgett, who took home three straight awards.

Clement is now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year award announced in March, elite alumni association of past state girls basketball award-winners, including Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Diana Taurasi (1998-99 & 1999-00, Don Antonio Lugo HS, Calif.), Maya Moore (2005-06 Collins Hill HS, Ga.), Rashanda McCants (2004-05, Asheville HS, N.C.), Shyra Ely (1999-00, Ben Davis HS, Ind.) and Lisa Leslie (1988-89, Morningside HS, Calif.)

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Read or Share this story: