Scarborough's Ben Greenberg takes home 2nd Gatorade POTY

CHICAGO, Illinois – Scarborough Red Storm pitcher Ben Greenberg has captured his second consecutive USATODAY High School Sports Gatorade Maine Baseball Player of the Year.

Greenberg has had an outstanding season for the Red Storm owner of a 3-1 record and a 1.17 ERA on the mound. The state's returning Gatorade Baseball Player of the Year, Greenberg also compiled a .519 batting average with six RBI and a .675 on-base percentage through 11 games.

Greenberg also has excelled in the classroom and in the community. Greenberg maintains an A-minus average in his classes. He has volunteered locally on behalf of Ronald McDonald House Charities, youth baseball programs and community-cleanup initiatives. He has also raised funds to aid a school in Haiti.

Greenberg joins Chris Bernard as not only a Scarborough winner…but a two time POTY winner. Bernard won his Gatorade POTY awards in 2008 and 2009.

Greenberg joins other Maine two time winners Luke Fernandes (2011-12, Marshwood High School), Scott Heath (2010 – 11, Westbrook High School), Matt Verrier (2009-10, Oxford Hills Comprehensive), Chris Bernard (2008–09, Scarborough), Kyle Stilphen (2007-08, Gardiner Area), and Jarrett Lukas (2006-2007, Old Town).

"Greenberg is a great two-way player," said Eric Fernandes, head coach at Marshwood High. "He swings a very good bat, and he's a bulldog on the mound."

Greenberg has signed a National Letter of Intent to play baseball on scholarship at Fordham University this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the year award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Greenberg as Maine's best high school baseball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Baseball Player of the Year, Greenberg joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Roy Halladay (1994-95, Arvada West HS, Colo.), David Price (2003-04, Blackman HS, Tenn.), Chipper Jones (1989-90, Bolles School, Fla.), Derek Lee (1992-93, El Camino HS, Calif.) and John Lester (2001-02, Bellarmine Prep, Wash.).

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Information from Gatorade and USA TODAY High School Sports used in this report.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment