New Maine lawmakers elect constitutional officers

3:25 PM, Dec 5, 2012   |    comments
Maine Legislature sworn in 2013-2014 session
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) - Meeting in a joint House-Senate caucus, the newly sworn-in Maine Legislature is electing three constitutional officers and a state auditor.

There was little surprise in Wednesday afternoon's vote. Because Democrats now have House and Senate majorities, their candidates were certain to win.

Democratic candidates are Matthew Dunlap of Old Town for secretary for state and Janet Mills of Farmington for attorney general. Both previously held those positions before Republicans ousted them in 2010 after the GOP won a majority of legislative seats.

Neria Douglass of Auburn was the nominee for state treasurer. Douglass was state auditor for the last eight years before leaving office because of term limits. The Democrats also nominated Pola Buckley of Hallowell as state auditor.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos